ASU Football: Three Alumni Named to 2017 Hall of Fame Ballot


Three ASU Football alumni were named to the 2017 College Football Hall of Fame ballot.

Jake “The Snake” Plummer, David Fulcher and Darryl Rogers were among the 75 players and six coaches that have been selected to be a part of the 2017 ballot.

In order to be considered for selection there are certain requirements that must be met. One of those requirements is that the player in question must have been a first-team All-American, an accomplishment that is no easy task.

“It’s an enormous honor to just be on the ballot when you think that more than 5.12 million people have played college football, the Hall’s requirement of being a First-Team All-American creates a much smaller pool of only 1,500 individuals who are even eligible to be on the ballot, so being in today’s elite group means an individual is truly among the greatest to ever have played the game,” said NFF President and CEO Steve Hatchell.

All three ASU greats have made a strong case to be in the Hall of Fame as they each left a tremendous impact on the game.

More from Devils in Detail

It is hard to forget Plummer’s historic senior season when he led the Sun Devils to an undefeated record and the Pac-10 championship.

Fulcher’s reputation of being a punishing tackler was also impressive. He will be remembered for hitting opposing players so hard they had to leave the game.

Finally, there is Darryl Rogers. Rogers was brought in as coach after a period of turmoil for the Sun Devils. The firing of Frank Kush and the poor performance by interim coach Bob Owens left many fans feeling dismayed.

Rogers came in and handled the situation flawlessly. He brought ASU back to a winning era and guided the Sun Devils to a 37-18-1 record during his five seasons as head coach.

All three of these Sun Devil legends are already Hall of Famers in the minds of ASU Football fans. Now it’s a matter of if they are Hall of Famers in the eyes of the NFF.