ASU Football: Four Sun Devils Make Watch Lists


The Maxwell Award has been given to America’s College Player of the Year since 1937 and the Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995.

Arizona State is one of only six schools (joining Notre Dame, Ohio State, Stanford, UCLA and USC) with multiple representatives on both watch lists. Meanwhile, the Pac-12 Conference has 15 total selections on the Maxwell Award Watch List and its six member institutions with multiple selections leads all conferences, two more than the Southeastern Conference (SEC).

The Sun Devils’ pair of selections on the Bednarik Watch List are the second most in the Pac-12 behind Stanford. The Pac-12 has 14 total selections and ASU is one of 14 schools with multiple representatives.

All four Sun Devils on the watch lists earned All-Pac-12 honors in 2012 and Kelly also received Pac-12 All-Academic honorable mention recognition.