Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

ASU Football: Several Sun Devils on Awards Watch Lists

As the ASU football team prepares for media week and the opening of camp soon after, several Sun Devil players have been nominated for Awards Watch Lists.

Most of these awards are position specific and several players across the country are usually put on these lists.  Nevertheless, it is still an honor to be considered for these awards.

Senior Quarterback Taylor Kelly is up for a couple of awards:

The O’Brien Award.  This award is one of the oldest awards in college football.  It goes to the nation’s best quarterback.  It’s quite an accomplishment for Kelly to be on this watch list, especially when playing in the same conference as Brett Hundley, Marcus Mariota and Sean Mannion.

The AFCA AllState Good Works Team.  This award is for a player that demonstrates volunteerism, leadership, charity work and community service.  Kelly is heavily involved in the Scholar Baller program at South Mountain High School and coaches youth football.  He is considered an excellent ambassador of the ASU program.

WR Jaelon Strong is also up for two awards:

The Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List.  This award is very prestigious and goes to the nation’s most outstanding receiver.

The Maxwell Award Watch List.  This award goes to the most outstanding college football player.

Offensive Lineman Jamil Douglas is on the watch list for the Lombardi Award and the Outland Trophy.  Both of these awards go to the most outstanding lineman.  Tight End De’Mariyea Nelson is on the watch list for the Mackey Award, the nation’s most outstanding Tight End.  Kicker Zane Gonzalez is on the watch list for the Lou Groza award, the nation’s most outstanding placekicker.  Finally, running back DJ Foster is on the list for the Hornung Award, the nation’s most versatile player.

It is hard not to notice that no Sun Devils have been mentioned as candidates for the Heisman Trophy.

Devils in Detail, along with all ASU fans wish the best of luck for these Sun Devils in possibly receiving these college football honors.

Tags: ASU Football Biletnikoff Award De'Mariyea Nelson DJ Foster Hornung Award Jaelon Strong Jamil Douglas Lombardi Award Lou Groza Award Mackey Award Maxwell Award O'Brien Award Outland Trophy Taylor Kelly Zane Gonzalez

comments powered by Disqus